The Express Entry categories are set to remain unchanged in 2024

Author: Admin | | Categories: Express Entry

The Express Entry categories

Canada will retain the Express Entry categories this year, according to Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC). These include French, Healthcare, STEM, Trades, Transport, Agriculture, and agri-food categories, selected based on Canada’s economic needs and in consultation with stakeholders. 

In 2023, there were 17 category-based draws across these sectors. Changes to the frequency of draws have been observed since the introduction of category-based selection in June 2023. The impact of these changes on Canadian immigration will become clearer once more data is available and more receive permanent residency in early 2024. In 2023, there were 17 category-based draws:

  1. French category: 6 draws
  2. Healthcare category – three draws
  3. STEM category – two draws.
  4. Trades category – two draws.
  5. Transport category – two draws
  6. Agriculture and agri-food category – two draws.

Express Entry Category-based selection in 2023

On June 28, 2023, the first category-based selection draw was held, inviting 1,500 express-entry candidates to work in eligible healthcare occupations. Throughout the rest of the year, IRCC invited over 16,000 Express Entry candidates via category-based selection in 17 different draws. So far in 2024, there has been one category-based selection draw for 7,000 candidates with French language proficiency.

About the Express Entry

Express Entry is a system used by the Canadian government to manage applications for permanent residence from skilled workers. It is the primary pathway for immigrants who wish to settle in Canada based on their skills, work experience, language ability, and other factors. The Express Entry system operates through three main immigration programs:

  • Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP): This program is for skilled workers with foreign work experience who want to immigrate to Canada permanently. Applicants must meet specific criteria related to education, work experience, language proficiency, and adaptability factors.
  • Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP): This program is for skilled tradespeople who have at least two years of full-time work experience in a skilled trade within the five years preceding their application. They must also meet certain language and other requirements.
  • Canadian Experience Class (CEC): This program is for individuals who have gained skilled work experience in Canada temporarily and wish to transition to permanent residency. Applicants must have at least one year of Canadian work experience in a skilled occupation and meet language and other criteria.

Join our RSS Feed 


If you want to know more details about The Express Entry categories are set to remain unchanged in 2024″ you can contact one of our immigration specialists at  Gunness & Associates.


Tel: (416) 604-2669 



Gunness & Associates has helped thousands of people successfully immigrate to Canada with their families. Our skilled and experienced immigration experts have the expertise to accurately examine your case and advise you on the best method of proceeding to serve your needs.


For honest and straightforward advice, contact the experts

at Gunness & Associates

Get a free Assessment 

Join our newsletter and get up-to-date immigration news Click here

All rights reserved ©2023 Gunness & Associates